slartibartfast

Should you locum or not? your guarandamnteed guide

42 posts in this topic

Ive been doing locum work since the last 2 years. Will go over as many related issues as possible in this thread. Give you as much of an overview as possible.

My reasoning for doing locums.

I was unhappy with my life - coming home, watching TV, going to sleep and back again the next day.

I realised I didnt leave my beautiful life in India to come here and live a hermit's existence. A groundhog day life of work-home-tv-net-eat-sleep and weekend warrior living.

I also didnt see the life ahead as very fulfilling - I saw consultants walking around with that haunted look in their eyes and didnt really want to see myself there.

Realised that I didnt really know what I was signing up for when I joined medschool i.e. at an age where I wasnt old enough to legally drink, smoke or shag. And they expected me/us to make decisions about the rest of our lives till 65.

But really - it was the groundhog existence. I thought I could save money and go on holiday.

Well, that didnt happen.

I fell into the same trap I always had been in. Dropped down in overdraft no matter how much I earned.

Sure, money was put into investments. But thats when I realised a little something - people doing locums just had (massively) bigger debts. Before a 12K car or a second house was an extravagance, but now it was almost a necessity.

I put the money into a business in India. Didnt go too well, but that was because of ineptitude rather than anything else.

But getting back to the point - my locum buddies bought fancy cars, fancy gadgets, and invested in property.