Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
umesh

CASC - what worked for me

48 posts in this topic

thanx doctor for your invaluable hints and advices please keep on posting more info, Jan 2013 is coming soon.

Hi Umesh

Thank you so much for your thoughtfulness. I really appreciate your courage to do this.

Thanks again.

Any chance I can get hold of you via skype or mobile- I am doing it for the first time and have few burning questions after reading this forum.

thank u very much for ur help i appreciate the effort u r doing here i took the exam last january i didnt pass i can see now how far i was from doing it i studied hard but i didnt grasp the whole picture as u r posting here i m preparing for january now with different strategy waiting for ur post it s really ll make alot of diffrence with me

Hi Folks,

some more info.

learning disability patient - general points to remember.

1) try to know name and age of the patient....if not given in the task (like the station I had in my exam) ask the carer/nurse.

2) depending on the station, try to know degree of L.D - mild/moderate/severe

3) if they ask aetiology/risk remember to cover these points -

physical health - any infection/pain/constipation

mental health - mood/psychosis/anxiety

sensory impairment - hearing or vision problems

medication - if any, any changes, compliance

any changes in surrounding - in terms of accommodation (e.g change in room), change in carers (nurses), change in activities

info on family members - any change there

(there is a station where mother would have stopped attending care home due to her becoming unwell, leading to a change n behaviour of patient with other history of a new disruptive resident and discontinuation of gardening activity which would have made him unwell )