Szas

About to be a consultant. Is this it ?!?!

7 posts in this topic

Dear All

Have not posted on this group previously but being in the current situation that I am I felt compelled.

Im about to finish my training and obtain CCT - only to be exposed to the dark world of being a consultant - something I previously looked at as the holy grail for all medics ! An unlimited amount of politics  , beuracracy and inundated by paperwork all the price of £4000 a month which does not go far when you have a family to support.

The locum world is also filled with its own challenges , with locum rates capped, IR35 and fewer locum availability around the country. Not to forget dealing with the "locum" title and in some trusts having eye witnessed consultants being treated like SHOs.

The private sector does seem to be appealing and will be something I'll be looking into however I present I have limited knowledge and would appreciate input from peers in the group.

I just feel as though after working through medical school, navigating myself through training and exams , the end goal is not what it is really cut out to be. Perhaps the knowledge of knowing that a  clinical research colleague of mine recently managed to secure a salary of £250,000 in a pharmaceutical company may have precipitated my inner distress.

I am sure people especially younger Trainees might find this post quite demoralising. It's important to remember that as medics we are privileged in many ways despite the current climate. However if your quest is for a thirst for knowledge you will be far more satisfied rather than it being purely economic gain.

Apologies for the long winded post just had to get it off my chest !

We earn decent money being in this profession but totally  agree that what we earn is disproportionately low  considering the hard work, stress and responsibility that comes with practising medicine.  Some doctors do earn well but  mostly we have poor financial and business acumen.