Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
Guest nam

advise on prep for MRCPsych part 2 - mar 06

22 posts in this topic

hi there

I will be eligible for part 2 in march 06 next year.any advise how to start studying ?what should i study now?how to read journals for essay purpose as i am very new to all this & don't have much idea about it.

thanx.

nam

Hi nam,

I posted some general advice on another section of this forum. I am copying it with this post and adding some other stuff.

General stuff - No one can tell you how soon or late to start. Depends whether ure the steady runner or the last minute sprinter. I basically let my inner anxiety guide me and when it said 'start now or else' i started!

The regualr fellas start usually aroung 6 months b4 the exam while I started 2 months b4 (but then did nothing else but study in my waking hours - ahem aside from work of course!). Try and go for a job thats not too busy in your feb allocation even if it means taking up a relatively heavy post now - youll need the time. My approaches and suggestions for individual sections of the paper are given below.

1. Essay - Manchester notes (know them inside out, read re-read and re-re-read them); APT; BJP (reviews and editorials) and suggest having a look at any text ure comfortable with for the major disorders (if uve got the time, but the manchester notes are key - loads of information, reallly really condensed).

2. Critical Appraisal - I used Steven Lawrie (starts to make some sense in the second reading); The college critical appraisal book (extremely essential as these are exactly the kind of questions that are gonna be asked int he actual exam); if ure really up for it a stats book but the lawrie stats section was enough; manchester course practice papers. The key is practice practice under exam conditions...the more u do the better ur chances are. I think everyone sitting the exam knows enough to pass but those who can do it in the time allotted are the ones who do.