• Announcements

• Gurpal

New question bank for paper B   05/11/18

Please see the link below for a new question bank: http://www.superegocafe.com/online-courses/mrcpsych-paper-b-multiple-choice-question-bank/  
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
pratish

SHO rotation

13 posts in this topic

I have some experience of psychiatry in india and around 8 months here in UK ,

which rotation do you think i shud go for?

i have been short listed several places... sheffield, nottingham, guys , charring cross. i am presently working in newcastle.....durham county hospital

hello pratish

as u can see very difficult one to advice on.depends on what you are looking for and what developmental stage[!!]i mean family etc you are in.

As for me there is not any difference between any rotations in terms of what is learnt..most of it you have to do.

Yes some places there is an expectation you do certain things as a part of training,which usually happens in professorial units.

But then life is more than that..good oncalls, peer support,good consultant supervision and practical things like accomodation,how far are the different posts in the rotation are counts.

all the ebst

think about where u would like to do spr .as they always prefer local internal candidates.

london etc should b great but then consider about family ,accomodation etc.

good luck

I would say be very wary of places that dont push supervision . This will vary around the country and that doesnt mean that academic rotations are better .

I think that training is training is training . .......... However adequately supervised training is imperative . I have experience of both types of training with consultants who are either too busy clinically or who are just plain disinterested . Give this priority when considering a rotation .

all the best

hi there

everybody did say something that was useful but nobod actually named any rotation.....?