Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
Guest drbaldwin

Depressed!!!!!!!!

33 posts in this topic

I have recently joined to this forum. I am an F2 SHO in medical rotation and I want to get a SHO Psychiatry job before August. I applied to a couple of rotations and didn't get shortlisted. I did 2 two-weekly attachments in Psychiatry during my annual leave. I don't know what else I can do. I started to think that I will never go to a rotation. If this is the case I want to know If I have a chance to get a 6 months locum or trust grade posts. I live in Liverpool and apart from London I can work everywhere. Please share your experience with me. :'(

I forgot to say I am an overseas doctor. :'(

I work in london and it's been a while since I had any involvement at sho level. Is there any way that you can get feedback on why your application was not successful? could you ask a consultant where you did your 2 wk.stint for advice or to look at your c.v. maybe you could consider going to some general psychiatric conferences to display your interest in the field.M

u said u cld work anywhere....

ave u considered ireland?my situation was kinda similar to urs @ the beginning  ....i'm just curious-y d'you want 2 leave medicine?..interest or frustration?

I would say keep applying. If you think of it there is a pool of people out there who want a psych rotation, every time one is advertised the pool gets a bit smaller. Apply for everything! (I think N Wales closing date is coming up), and remember nearer the time, locums will come up. &nbsp:lol:on't judge everything on 2 applications. You never really know how many posts are available in a rotation. I got turned down for one, but then found there were only 3 posts available.

Get someone to look at your cv/ check your application forms too. Even if it's your medical consultant.

Out of curiosity which rotations did you apply for?

Some are more competitive than others.