Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
sona

evidence for proficiency in english?

16 posts in this topic

can some one guide regarding evidence of proficiency in English----

I passed my IELTS in 2003 and am working in this country since 2004, do I still need that certificate that I did my degree in English// or Do I need to appear in IELTS again?

It depends on whether you are applying for initial HSMP or extension. if this is your initial application then you may have to get the certificate from your university stating that you did your degree in english or resit IELTS.If it is for extending HSMP then IELTS test certificates which are more than 2 years old will be accepted(REF:FLR(HSMP) guidance notes)

hope this helps

I know atleast 3 friends who are applying for IELTS on thier first application.The home office have a database of universities which are '.IELTS Rcognised'.Even if your university is recognised by WHO for PLAB ect,it should be present in the IELTS database they have.If not i am afraid they dont consider letters from university.

Hi,

Thanks for the reply & sorry for confusion.The question was regarding application for ST 2 . Would I require to provide any evidence regarding English as it is one of the criterias in application form

Thanking in anticipation

Person specification states they need IELTS BAND 7 overall,but does not mention any duration like the HSMP.Hence my understanding is that you can use your IELTS certificate issued in 2003,as it does not come with a expiry date!I am thinking of using my IELTS certifcate issued in November 2002 both for ST interviews and for my HSMP extension.If my thinking is wrong please correct me.

for the application process I would use the IELTS cert whenever it was awarded. At the end of the day it demonstrates proficiency at the point of attainment. I guess the assumption is that as long as you have been in employment since (not necessarily continuous), your English must only have improved.