Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
nocturnal

Study partner in Glasgow for papers 1 and 2 (June)

26 posts in this topic

Dear super-ego mates,

I am an ST2 trainee based in Glasgow, training in the West of Scotland psychiatry rotation.

I am planning to sit both papers 1 and 2 in June this year.

I have the manchester notes for January 2008 (new pattern).

Would like to have a couple of study partners based in greater glasgow area.

If you wish to study with me, please let me know.

Cheers.

If you get back to me, then I can send you my mobile number in a personal message on one condition: don't ever give it to any of my patients!

I think this is going to be an increasing problem. There are so few trainees now in Scotland doing psych. I think overall 43 ST1-3s. Hence only a few people doing each exam at a time. I know in Tayside we've only got about 3 or 4 people who are due to sit.

When I sat it there were 7 of us going from Aberdeen at the same time.

Maybe you need to start thinking about a Scotland wide study group...?

I've thought of that, Chris, but it seems there are practical considerations too.

The best that can me managed is ppl from greater Glasgow and Edinburgh coming together and people from Aberdeen and Dundee choosing a place to study/discuss in unison. Otherwise Scotland has too few trainees scattered over a large area.

(Wish I was still in London, just for study's sake!)

Moreover, I think I have posted this well in advance, so if any trainee is interested, then he/she can get in touch and discuss the logistics.

Watch this space! :-X

I think when Remedy Scotland were having their national meetings they met in Perth. It's within reasonable distance of the central belt and Tayside, and is on the train line from Aberdeen to Glasgow and the line from Inverness.

I agree, I think it's a crying shame that local study groups are becoming unfeasible due to the drop in numbers of trainees. I'll let the ones in Tayside know anyway.